The Fourth Stanza of the Star Spangled Banner

March 29, 2010

Oh, the power of a blog! As much of a history buff I consider myself, a friend has reached out and taught me something new. The Fourth Stanza of the Star Spangled Banner.

God in the National Anthem

Francis Scott Key wrote four stanzas to our National Anthem, though we traditionally only sing the First Stanza. The Star Spangled Banner has always stirred my soul, and has brought me to near tears on more than one occasion. If you feel the same, you’ll truly appreciate the Fourth Stanza.

Oh! thus be it ever, when freemen shall stand
Between their loved homes and the war’s desolation,
Blest with vict’ry and peace, may the Heav’n – rescued land
Praise the Pow’r that hath made and preserved us a nation.

Then conquer we must, for our cause is just,
And this be our motto–“In God is our trust.”
And the star-spangled banner in triumph doth wave
O’er the land of the free and the home of the brave.

“In God is our trust.” This ties in beautifully with my earlier blog post regarding the Pledge of Allegiance.

In closing, I leave you with a piece of scripture another friend shared with me to bring this theme all together:

Have I not commanded you? Be strong and courageous. Do not be afraid; do not be discouraged, for the Lord your God will be with you wherever you go. — Joshua 1:9

One Response to “The Fourth Stanza of the Star Spangled Banner”

  1. MamaTod Says:

    For our Bicentennial in 1976 our church choir sang a cantata called “I Love America” by John W. Peterson. We sang this verse; I wish we sang it more often.

    (I still remember a LOT of the cantata itself, just ask my kids. I can break into “I’m just a Flag-waving American” in public any time they need embarrassing. LOL)


Leave a Reply

