How to Use Social Media To Win Listings

March 31, 2009

 

I have been on a mission to learn everything I can about Social Media (SM) and to create a powerful web presence. When done correctly, SM will drive traffic to my website, and generate new business. I am using it to build a giant network of fellow professionals from a myriad of industries. I am learning about the latest, cutting edge technology and applications. But it can do so much more! Have you ever used SM in a face to face engagement? I did it today, with great results.

Today I had a listing presentation with a gentleman who owns a vacation home on the White River, a highly sought after location.

I found his listing on http://www.forsalebyowner.com, and sent him a mailer requesting an appointment. In that mailer I congratulated him for realizing that the internet was the number one place to look for potential buyers. I added that while he was on the right track, he was only seeing the tip of the iceberg. I finished with leaving my number, and instructing him to call me to learn more.

He called me as soon as he received it. He said that he had listed the property about a year ago, but hadn’t had any success with it. I met with him this morning, and asked him if he knew what Social Media was. He didn’t, so I explained it using an apt summary I read on-line:

“Imagine a cocktail party, where you are having a conversation with your friends and colleagues. Now imagine that party without walls, on a global scale, with millions of people. Even better, every one of those people can hear what you’re saying, and can hear it over and over again. That’s Social Media.”

Old school real estate marketing consisted of putting an ad in the paper, handing out some flyers, and networking among people you know. A lot of those principles still apply, but the medium has changed. The paper is now the world wide web, with an exponentially larger circulation than the hometown paper. My flyer is likely a 140 word tweet, and my network consists of thousands of people from around the world.

He was visibly excited. My customer is a retired college professor, so he’s  no dummy. He instantly saw the potential. I had prepared a couple of flyers displaying all the various media I use, with the logos, in color. It took two pages to list them all. Facebook, LinkedIn, Active Rain, WordPress, Blogger, Twitter, and so on. I went through it with him one by one.

Then I hit him with a power statement:

“I have established and maintain over 30 different web resources dedicated to one thing: Selling your home.”

My customer was impressed with my knowledge of the most current trends, and I was able to effectively demonstrate how my knowledge would benefit him in selling his home. I set myself apart from my competition because I have embraced Social Media, and the potential that it offers. My customer was able to see that I have invested my time and resources into building my business. Why wouldn’t you want someone that dedicated working for you?

Yet again, Social Media helped me to grow my business, and to better serve my customers.

Leave a Reply

